April TBR

0a65c6b3-3b54-4b3d-94ca-74eedeb268c4

Hey guys! I’m sorry I’m a tad late with this post, but I’m excited to share what I plan on reading this month with you guys. As always, I’m excited to read each of them this month as most of them are new releases and arcs. Without any further ado, lets get into it.

Emergency Contact by Mary H.K Choi. I’m currently reading this at the moment, so I’m actually quite enjoying this one so far. I’ll explain more on thoughts in my wrap up. But after meeting in an awkward situation, Penny and Sam become each others emergency contacts and start texting each other. And they become closer as a result. I’ve heard some mixed things about it, but I’m excited to finish this book and discuss it.

Obsidio by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. This is the third and final book in the Illuminae Files trilogy. I read the previous two book last month and I absolutely loved them. They were so addicting and thrilling, I could not stop reading them. I won’t spoil the plot because it’s a sequel but Illuminae involves Kerenza being invaded and basically Kady and Ezra have to save two ships from being destroyed. I seriously can’t wait to read this third book soon.

The Summer of Broken Things by Margaret Peterson Haddix. I was sent this arc by Simon and Schuster and it comes out on April 10th. I don’t think I’ll finish this in time for the release but it does sound like a great spring/summer read. Two former childhood friends are brought together again by a trip to Spain and big secrets are revealed. That’s pretty much all I know about this one, but I’m interested to give it a go.

Miles Away From You by A.B Rutledge. This book already came out in March, but I was sent an arc by Raincoast Books. I’ve read some pretty negative review on this one but since this is a book I need to review, I will give this book a try. Essentially, Miles fell in love with a transgender female three years prior and then a suicide attempt leaves her in a coma. As an attempt to move on, Miles takes a trip to Iceland and take pictures of her Doc Marten’s wherever he goes. He somehow ends up meeting an Icelandic local (who is male) and they spark up a relationship. Apparently there have been some problematic elements expressed by readers who have read this book, so I will keep those in mind while reading myself.

A Prom to Remember by Sandy Hall. This comes out on April 24th and I’m so happy to have an arc. Sandy Hall is one of my favourite cheesy romance authors. So, I can’t wait for this one. This book deals with seven main characters during prom season. There is some diverse representation, such as LGBT rep for example and I love reading about that in books. I feel like this will be an awesome fun, lighthearted read.

The Case for Jamie by Brittany Cavallaro. This is the third and final book in the Charlotte Holmes trilogy and I’m so intrigued to see how this one ends. The overall trilogy is a modern retelling of the classic Sherlock Holmes and I actually really enjoy reading mysteries. The first book is about Charlotte Holmes and Jamie Watson meeting at a boarding school and they must clear their names after being falsely accused of murdering a classmate. I’m super excited to dive into this soon.

Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley. Okay, this is the last time I’m putting this book on my official TBR. It’s been on my TBR for the past two months and if I don’t get to it by the end of April, I’ll get to it whenever I can. I’ve heard good things about this one as it focuses on a LGBT romance during the 1959 Civil Rights Movement. So with that, I’m going to move on.

Things to Do When it’s Raining by Marissa Stapley. April showers bring May flowers, right? As we all know, April is supposed to be a pretty rainy month so what better time than to read it now? I plan to read more adult books this year and this plot really intrigued me. Essentially, two childhood friends come back to their small town after decades of being apart. I’ve heard good things about it and I can’t wait to get into it.

That is all for my TBR this month, I hope you enjoyed. What books do you plan on reading this month? Let me know in the comments below. Until my next post: Happy Reading!

 

Leave a comment